Skip to main content

Regional Skills Assessments

We've developed, in partnership with Scottish Enterprise, the Scottish Funding Council and the Scottish Local Authorities Economic Development Group, a set of Regional Skills Assessments for the Scottish Enterprise operating area.

The evidence base for the Highlands and Islands Enterprise area is contained in the Skills Investment Plan for the Highlands and Islands.

The purpose of Regional Skills Assessments is to provide a single, agreed evidence base on which to base future investment in skills, built up from existing evidence. They should:

  • support the Scottish Funding Council and Regional Colleges in negotiating Regional Outcome Agreements
  • provide a framework for aligning Skills Development Scotland's investment in individuals and businesses
  • assist partners in planning their strategic investment in skills
  • highlight gaps in national and regional skills evidence.

The geography used for the Regional Skills Assessments was developed through a series of discussions with partners and a recognition that:

  • across the public sector agencies, different regional geographies are used
  • each Regional Skills Assessment should be built up from a local authority basis
  • any single local authority should not be split across Regional Skills Assessments, but a local authority could be included in more than one.
  • This covers Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire.
  • Ayrshire (.pdf, (2MB)
    This covers East, North and South Ayrshire.
  • This covers Edinburgh, Midlothian and East and West Lothian,
  • Fife (.pdf, (2MB)
    This covers Fife.
  • Forth Valley (.pdf, (3MB)
    This covers Clackmannanshire, Falkirk and Stirling.
  • This combines the West, Lanarkshire and Glasgow region RSAs.
  • Glasgow Region (.pdf, (3MB)
    This covers Glasgow City, East Dunbartonshire and East Renfrewshire
  • Lanarkshire (.pdf, (2MB)
    This covers East Dunbartonshire, North and South Lanarkshire.
  • South of Scotland (.pdf, (3MB)
    This covers the Scottish Borders and Dumfries and Galloway
  • Tayside (.pdf, (3MB)
    This covers Angus, Dundee and Perth and Kinross.
  • West Region (.pdf, (3MB)
    This covers East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, Renfrewshire and West Dunbartonshire.

Download the data matrix

If you are having difficulty accessing this file contact for assistance.