Skip to main content

Modern, Technical and Professional Apprenticeships

Apprenticeships are open to anyone over the age of 16 and all Apprentices are employed. They can be used to support new entrants into a business or to upskill existing employees who need significant new skills and knowledge to undertake their job role. There are four levels of apprenticeship in Scotland:

  • Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 5
  • Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 6 or 7
  • Technical Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 8 or 9
  • Professional Apprenticeships at SCQF Level 10 and above

Apprenticeship frameworks cover a wide range of sectors and skills, from Accountancy, to Engineering, to Youth Work. They are developed by licensed SSCs and other Sector Skills Organisations (SSOs) recognised by UKCES, in conjuction with employers to address skills needs in their sector.

National Minimum Wage

Th UK Government sets the National Minimum Wage. The NMW rate for apprentices  applies to Modern Apprentices aged 16 to 18 and those aged 19 or over who are in their first year. All other apprentices are entitled to the National Minimum Wage for their age.